AFCCE News & Events
Jul 16

2019 President’s Letter from John George

Dear AFCCE Members,

First let me state that it is an honor and privilege to serve as your President for the 2019-2020 term.  We have a great group of Officers and Board Members and look forward to continuing the successes of our former President and now Secretary John Lyons.

The 71st Annual Meeting was held June 20-22 in Atlanta, Georgia with over 35 members and guests participating.  Highlights included tours of the Briarcliff American Tour site and the Tuner Network facilities.  We also wish to thank Jon Edwards, Sterling Davis and Mark Fehlig for their efforts in making the Annual Meeting a great success. The Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center was our venue and they provided excellent service and accommodations.

The 2018–2019 Annual Report is under review, and a PDF copy of the final version will be sent shortly.

During the past year the Board approved the following for membership:

For Full Membership:

James A. Dalke, Owner, Dalke Broadcast Services, Inc.
Michael Francis Violette, P.E., CEO, Washington Laboratories LTD
William Patrick Magliocco, P.E., Nexstar Media Group (WRIC-TV)

For Associate Membership:

David Lee Zack, Radio Frequency Systems, Broadcast Sales Manager
David Howard Cole, Associate, Widelity, Inc.
John Stephen Lynch, Electronics Research Inc.- Broadband Business Development Manager
Mark Heller, President/Owner, Metro North Communications, Inc.

Three new Board members were elected by ballot of the membership, and I would like to welcome   Ben Evans and Jim Leifer as new members to the Board and John Lyons back to the Board to serve another term.  I would also like to thank Mark Fehlig for his service on the Board and to the organization.

Following the Annual Meeting, the incoming Board elected new officers. The new officers for the 2019–2020 term are (the board member’s class term is shown in parenthesis):

2019 – 2020 Officers

President: John George (2022)
Vice President: Jon Edwards (2020)
Secretary: Stephen Pumple (2021)
Treasurer: John Lyons (2023)


Anne Goodwin Crump (2020)
Sterling E. Davis (2022)
Ben Evans (2023)
Chris Horne (2020)
Jim Leifer (2022)

I want to thank Bob Weller for taking on the responsibility of Treasurer a year ago to help with financial continuity after Ron Chase. I also want to thank John Lyons for stepping into this position for the coming year.  I also want to acknowledge the work of John Reiser for, organizing the monthly luncheons, and dedicated efforts of Marshall Cross, Chairman of the AFCCE Scholarship Fund’s Scholarship Committee.

We still need to secure a replacement for the Program Coordinator. If you are interested in this opportunity, please contact me ASAP by phone or e-mail.

Luncheon Meetings for 2019-2020

September 20 (Friday) – Luncheon Meeting (Holiday Inn-Dogwood)
October 25 (Thursday) – Luncheon Meeting (Holiday Inn-Dogwood)
October 25 (Thursday) – AFCCE Fall Social (Holiday Inn-Vantage Point Restaurant, 6-9 PM)
November 20 (Wednesday) – Luncheon Meeting (Holiday – Inn Shenandoah)
November 20 (Wednesday) – FCC Reception (National Press Club, 5-8 PM)
January 24 (Friday) – Luncheon Meeting (Holiday Inn-Dogwood)
February 21 (Friday) – Luncheon Meeting (Holiday Inn-Dogwood)
March 20 (Friday) – Luncheon Meeting (Holiday Inn-Dogwood)
May 8 (Friday) – Luncheon Meeting (Holiday Inn-Dogwood) NOTE: Day change due to existing conflicts.
June 25-28 – Annual Meeting – Toronto, Ontario, Canada
May will be our last luncheon at the Holiday Inn.  The hotel will undergo renovations after our May meeting.  We would appreciate the membership’s input on a new location for our luncheon meetings.  Please feel free to contact me by phone or email.

Upcoming events of note include:

Fall Social

AFCCE’s Fall Social will be held on October 25th at the Vantage Point Restaurant, atop the Holiday Inn. The Fall Social benefits our scholarship fund and raised over $16,000 last year. We are looking to exceed that number this coming year.

AFCCE Scholarship Program

The AFCCE Scholarship Program administers over $60,000 in scholarship funds for tele-communications students for their baccalaureate or graduate degree programs. Applications are presently being accepted for spring semester (2020) awards. We thank all members of the Scholarship Committee for their hard work and also thank AFCCE member Tom Silliman and his replacement Stephen Lockwood, for their work on the joint AFCCE/IEEE Jules Cohen Scholarship program and Mark Fehlig for his coordination with IWCE. We are working with the National Translator Association to launch the scholarship in memory of Byron St. Clair,

AFCCE/FCC Staff Reception

The Annual AFCCE/FCC Staff Reception will be held at the National Press Club in Washington, DC, on November 20th from 5 to 8 pm. The FCC Reception is a popular event among FCC technical staff, and allows us to honor and celebrate with the recipient of the 2019 E. Noel Luddy Award. Please plan on joining us for this enjoyable event.
AFCCE continues to need your support both in attendance to events and support of the scholarships we award.  While our membership is stable we need to continue growth.  We should all work on recruiting new members to our organizations.  I look forward to working with each of you and accepting your suggestions and recommendations to make our organization better.


John George, President